Home Carrollton Six Students Awarded Lineman School Scholarship from Carroll EMC

Six Students Awarded Lineman School Scholarship from Carroll EMC

Bailey Frederick

For six future linemen, the cost of training will be no hurdle to jump. Bailey Frederick, Grayson Gulledge, Trevor Hansford, Chase O’Neal, Tucker Philpot and Clayton Rose were each awarded the Lineman School Scholarship from Carroll Electric Membership Cooperative (EMC) worth $5,000 to use at their school of choice. 

In a time where formal education is no longer deemed the only path to success, students are increasingly encouraged to pursue a trade. Because of this, Carroll EMC’s Lineman School Scholarship has become a highly sought-after award and has sponsored more than 40 individuals since its inception in 2017. 

“We’re always going to need lineworkers because we have to have power,” said Taylor Key, Community Relations Supervisor and scholarship coordinator for Carroll EMC. “They’re the backbone of our society, and as generations of workers age out, we need younger men and women to replace them.”

To qualify for the scholarship, interested applicants must live in a home served by Carroll EMC or be an employee, employee’s child or employee’s grandchild. They must also be a graduating senior in good standing or have earned a high school diploma or GED and be drug free with a safe driving record. If these requirements are met, individuals can submit an online application with two letters of recommendation and an essay outlining why they want to pursue this career path. 

“It was on Feb. 13, 2014, I knew I wanted to become a lineman,” wrote Philpot, one of this year’s scholarship recipients. “A winter storm had come through, and our power was out. I was playing in the snow when a crew from Baldwin EMC pulled up to restore power. When they were finished, I asked if I could take a picture with them because they were heroes in my eyes.

“That has resonated in the back of my mind for many years and played a role in my decision to become a lineman,” Philpot added.

In addition to completing an online application, each qualified applicant must sit down for a panel interview with the scholarship committee. If selected as a recipient, they not only receive scholarship funds, but they are also paired with a lineman mentor as they go through training. Five of this year’s scholarship recipients plan to enroll at West Georgia Technical College and one at North Georgia Technical College.

Interested applicants for next year’s scholarship cycle can contact Taylor Key at 770-830-5736 or [email protected] for more information or with questions. 

Carroll EMC is a Member-owned cooperative providing electricity to approximately 54,000 homes and businesses. The co-op serves Members in Carroll, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk, Floyd and Troup counties. This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer. For more information visit the cooperative’s website at carrollemc.com or follow Carroll EMC on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X and YouTube. Carroll EMC: Community Built. Community Builder.