Home Carrollton Special Week Honors Georgia’s School Boards

Special Week Honors Georgia’s School Boards

(Last Updated On: December 21, 2017)


(Carrollton, Ga. – March 20, 2015) The Carroll County School District has joined in a statewide celebration this week to salute the efforts of local school board members. The week of March 16-20, 2015, has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

“Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district,” said Superintendent Scott K. Cowart. “Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our school system.”

The members of the Carroll County Board of Education are (pictured from left to right): Mr. Rob Cleveland (District 1), Mr. Bart Cater (District 6), Mrs. Sandra Morris (District 2), Vice Chair; Dr. Jon Anderson (District 7), Chair; Mr. Donald Nixon (District 5), Mr. Chris Gammon (District 3), and Mrs. Denise Pate (District 4-not pictured).

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students. The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the annual celebration of local boards of education. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s 180 elected boards of education. Please visit www.gsba.com for more information.