Home Carrollton Carrollton City Schools Elects Board of Education Officers

Carrollton City Schools Elects Board of Education Officers

(Last Updated On: December 21, 2017)


Carrollton, GA – Carrollton City Schools Board of Education held its regular monthly meeting Tuesday January 12th. Two agenda items involved the Board of Education itself. Three Board members, who were re-elected in November, took their oaths of office early in the meeting. The oaths were administered by Carrollton City Schools Superintendent Dr. Kent Edwards. The re-elected members are Dr. Mike Rothschild (at-large), Mr. Greg Dothard (Ward One) and Dr. Jimmy Pope (Ward Four). As a nod to the educational advances employed by the school system, Dr. Rothschild attended the meeting and took the oath of office using audio-visual technology as he was out of town.

According to state statute, board officers are to be elected at the first formal meeting of each new year. Following an Executive Session, the board returned to the meeting room to formally elect officers for 2016. The results of the officer elections are as follows: Chairman – Dr. Jimmy Pope, Vice Chairman – Mr. David Godwin, Treasurer – Mr. Greg Dothard.

These positions became effective at the conclusion of the meeting. Visit www. carrolltoncityschools.net for more details.