Home Carrollton CHS Captures Region Literary Title

CHS Captures Region Literary Title

16literary (1)
All members of the Carrollton High School Literary Team contributed to the overall Region 5-AAAA championship win. Pictured, front, from left, are Terry Fazio, Performing Arts teacher; Tayler Ashley, Susanna Seeman, Ally Murrah, Chasity Luke and Julie Lowry, choral/voice teacher. Second row: Richard Bracknell, debate coach; Will Crafton, Chase Duncan, Patrick Morgan, Ruthie Reeves. Back row: Marc Jones, Ryan Farley, Xavier Pace, Anthony Zheng, and Tommy Cox, director of the Performing Arts Department. Not pictured are Byron Flores, Marley Hobson, Jake Jennings, Blair Lipham, Katie Mancil and Jordan Mason.

CARROLLTON, GA – For the second year in a row, the Carrollton High School literary team captured the Region 5-AAAA Literary Championship, this year held March 1 at LaGrange College. Literary competes against the same schools as the athletic teams and is governed by the Georgia High School Association. This year, every team member earned points that contributed to the overall win.

Team members and the awards earned are:

• Patrick Morgan, third place in Argumentative Essay
• Will Crafton, first place in Personal Essay
• Jake Jennings, second place in Rhetorical Essay
• Chase Duncan, second place in Extemporaneous Speaking, Domestic
• Anthony Zheng, second place in Extemporaneous Speaking, International
• Chasity Luke, fourth place in Oral Interpretation, Humorous
• Tayler Ashley, first place in Oral Interpretation, Dramatic
• Marley Hobson & Ruthie Reeves, third place in Oral Interpretation, Duo
• Byron Flores, first place in Boys’ Solo
• Blair Lipham, first place in Girls’ Solo
• Katie Mancil, Ally Murrah & Susanna Seeman, first place in Girls’ Trio
• Ryan Farley, Marc Jones, Jordan Mason & Xavier Pace, second place in Boy’s Quartet

All the first place winners – Will, Tayler, Byron, Blair, Katie, Ally and Susanna – will travel to state competition in Warner Robins on March 12.

Press Release