Home Community Communications Team of the Year

Communications Team of the Year

Coweta County E-911 Shifts A1 and B2 won the award for Communications Team of the Year at the 2017 Georgia Emergency Communications Conference (GECC) in Columbus, GA on March 8, 2017.

The award, presented by the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) and the National Emergency Number Association (NENA), was for the call the shifts participated in with a missing child on Sept 2, 2016. Near the end of A2 shift, 911 Supervisor, Denise Madrey answered a call reporting a missing two-year old child.

The search went on throughout the night while the 911 B2 shift was working and when they got off work several of them went to the scene to assist the Fire Dept and Sheriff’s Dept in the search for the child. 911’s A1 shift then came on duty and later received the call from the group of searchers who had broken away from the search group and located the child in a thick wooded area.

Group Shot (left to right): Felicia Bridgette, Josh Rickmond, Lauren Coggin, Clarissa Hutson, Christine Freeman, Christy Jones, Kymer Walker, Gina Spence and Arlene Whisenhunt.

911 was able to use the associated latitude and longitude associated with the 911 call to help those on the scene locate them.

Previous articlePita Pit Now Open On Adamson Square
Next articleArea EMCs and Oglethorpe Power Corporation Present Large Heard County Tax Payment
Krystal Horne
Krystal is a graduate of the University of West Georgia with a bachelor's degree in Mass Communications and a minor in Psychology. She enjoys weightlifting, loves journalism and social media, UWG football, The Walking Dead, hanging out in bookstores, photography, cooking, doing yoga, and watching Falcons football.