Home Carrollton Carroll EMC Scholarships Available for 2018

Carroll EMC Scholarships Available for 2018

Carrollton, GA – Carroll Electric Membership Cooperative is dedicated to improving the quality of life for people in western Georgia. As they continue to strive to actively support students, Carroll EMC proudly offers the Walter Harrison scholarship, Lerlie and Millard Copeland Scholarship, the Linemen School Scholarship and the Washington Youth Tour. All of the aforementioned opportunities are seeking applicants for 2018.

Eleven $1,000 Walter Harrison scholarships are awarded statewide to undergraduate students enrolled in or accepted by a Georgia college, university or technical school. Carroll EMC selects one semifinalist from its service area to compete at the state level. Judges select winners for the scholarship each year based on financial need and academic ability. Applicants must reside in the household of a Carroll EMC Member or employee. Scholarships can be awarded to high school seniors and undergraduate students enrolled in or accepted by a Georgia college, university or technical school. Applications are due to Carroll EMC on or before February 1.

The $800 Lerlie and Millard Copeland Scholarship is awarded to a child or legal ward of a Carroll EMC Member or employee who attends the University of West Georgia. Selection is based first on financial need with academic performance and promise also being major determining factors. Preference is given to an incoming freshman. The recipient must be enrolled as a full-time student at UWG. Applicants can check the UWG Scholarship Application website, westga.edu/scholarships, for deadline.

“We’re proud to participate in these scholarship opportunities and to offer unique educational experiences to students and their families,” said Tim Martin, Carroll EMC CEO. “We recognize the growing cost of education, and we’re happy to play a part in helping members of our community.”

Carroll EMC is a Member-owned cooperative providing electricity to approximately 50,000 homes and businesses. The co-op serves Members in Carroll, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk and Troup counties. This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer. For more information visit the cooperative’s website at carrollemc.com or follow Carroll EMC on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest, Instagram and LinkedIn. Carroll EMC: Community Built. Community Builder.

Previous articleWinter Weather Possible Monday Morning
Next articleWeather Advisory Issued, Douglas County Courthouse delayed
Jonathan is the founder/owner of The City Menus.