Home Community City of LaGrange Inducts 2020-2021 LaGrange Youth Council

City of LaGrange Inducts 2020-2021 LaGrange Youth Council


The City of LaGrange inducted the new 2020-2021 LaGrange Youth Council members into office at the LaGrange City Council meeting Tuesday (9/22) evening.

2020-2021 LaGrange Youth Council with the Mayor and City Council
Pictured from left to right, 3rd row: Mayor Pro Tem Nathan Gaskin, Councilman Tom Gore, Councilman Mark Mitchell, Mayor Jim Thornton, Councilman LeGree McCamey, Councilman Jim Arrington & Councilman Willie T. Edmondson. 2nd row: LYC members Louise Dodson, Ella Eiland, Katy Beth Bedingfield, Jamal Jones, Elijah Langston, Ka’Various Perry, Tripp Hollstrom, Milly Criswell & William Pitts. 1st row: Caroline Shelton, Mary Frances Smith, Miller DeVane, Kate Asbell, Sydney Edelson, Kannon Key, Khamani Philpotts, Riley Whitlow, Zoie Mitchell & Eileen Hwang. Not pictured: Lauren Hale, Hamilton Bedingfield, MacKenzie Mitchell, Mollie Olinger & Addie Eiland

The new members received their LaGrange Youth Council pins from the Mayor and took their oath before the Mayor and Council. Before the meeting, the youth council participated in their first meeting and held a meet and greet with the Mayor and City Council.

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory board composed of 12 junior and 12 senior high school students from area high schools. The local youth provide advice and counsel to the local governing body. The Youth Council gives our local youth a more formal role in the local decision making process offering real world experiences with elected bodies.

DSC_0950 (2)
New Members taking the Oath of Office

Twenty-four students from LaGrange High, Troup High, LaGrange Academy and Springwood School are participating in the LaGrange Youth Council for the 2020-2021 school year. Members include Kate Asbell, Hamilton Bedingfield, Katy Beth Bedingfield, Milly Criswell, Miller DeVane, Louise Dodson, Sydney Edelson, Addie Eiland, Ella Eiland, Lauren Hale, Tripp Hollstrom, Eileen Hwang, Jamal Jones, Kannon Key, Elijah Langston, MacKenzie Mitchell, Zoie Mitchell, Mollie Olinger, Ka’Various Perry, Khamani Philpotts, William Pitts Caroline Shelton, Mary Frances Smith & Riley Whitlow.

Members will be required to participate in future city council meetings and the city’s “Leaving LaGrange Better Than We Found It” litter cleanup campaign. They will also be required to work on community issues they vote collectively as being important to the community.

For more information on the LaGrange Youth Council go to lagrangega.org/Home/Youth_Council.

Media Contact: Katie Mercer Van Schoor, City of LaGrange Marketing/Communications Manager, (706) 883-2055 or [email protected]

To keep up with the latest news involving the City of LaGrange, go to www.lagrangega.org or follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/lagrangegagov, Twitter at @lagrangegagov, & Instagram at instagram.com/cityoflagrangega.

Previous articleDonuts, Subs, and Phones Still Coming to Bremen
Next articleNaomi Norbratten Commended by 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program
To keep up with the latest news involving the City of LaGrange, go to www.lagrangega.org or follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/lagrangegagov, Twitter at @lagrangegagov, & Instagram at instagram.com/cityoflagrangega.