Home Carrollton Carroll County BOE Achieves 2020 GSBA Distinguished School Board Status

Carroll County BOE Achieves 2020 GSBA Distinguished School Board Status

Pictured Left to Right: Bryant Turner (Chair), Donald Nixon (Vice Chair), Clayton Kierbow, Bart Cater, Sandra Morris, Rob Cleveland, Dr. Robert Pinckney. Courtesy of Carroll County School System

(Carrollton, Ga. – December 15, 2020) Carroll County School System is proud to announce the achievement and status of the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA’s) 2020 Distinguished School Board recognition.

The recognition program is designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership. GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement.

Carroll County Board of Education met and/or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of a 2020 Distinguished Board. The criteria may be reviewed by clicking here for more information.

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize distinguished leadership.

In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-tiered program. For more information on the program you may visit the GSBA website for awards and recognition, and to view the criteria for all tiers of the program.