Home Bremen Bremen City Council Recognizes Heroism and Accomplishments

Bremen City Council Recognizes Heroism and Accomplishments

Recognizing the life-saving heroism of some adults and the athletic accomplishments of two recreation youth teams headlined the Bremen City Council meeting on Monday, July 18. 

First, Bremen Police Chief Keith Pesnell recognized a gentleman for his heroic efforts to save a well-known citizen from a dog attack. In May of this year Ms. Lilly Wilson, who works for Good Neighbor, was outside the business when several dogs ran up and attacked her. Just in time a passerby, Seth Hodges, saw what was happening and drove up to the business and ran the dogs off while also calling for help. Officers and EMTs soon arrived to treat Ms. Lilly and her injuries. She said she was thankful for this guardian angel that saved her.

Continuing the recognition of heroism, Bremen Parks and Recreation Director Matt Cody recognized three staff members who were there to give life-saving treatment to another fellow co-worker. On the morning of July 5, 2022, Bremen Parks and Rec employee Josh Stitcher was in his office when he suffered a heart attack. Upon hearing his distress, fellow co-workers Korra Thomas, Ashley Williams, and Adrienne Smith jumped into action, utilizing the recently installed AED machine, administering CPR, and calling 911. With their quick actions they were able to get Josh’s heart beating again. He was taken to the hospital and on the next day called Matt saying he was doing better and expected to make a full recovery.

In addition to heroic efforts being recognized at the meeting, so were the athletic accomplishments of two very special youth teams. Both the 8’s boys baseball team and the 8U girl’s softball team were state champions in the Dizzy Dean Baseball/Softball of Georgia Tournament. The boys won the silver division of their age group, defeating the O.P. Piranhas, and the girls defeated Carroll County.

The 8’s boys Dizzy Dean Baseball State Champion team members are Wyatt Burnett, Evan Cheatwood, Carter Folds, Brayden Gipson, Jaxston Keaton, James “Micah” McClure, Sawyer Melson, Patrick “Cooper” Pollard, Luke Rutheford, William “Pete” Sprayberry, Maddux Sullivan, and Dawson Yates. The assistant coaches are David Yates, Jesse Keaton, and Matthew McClure. The head coach is Billy Pollard.

The U8 girls Dizzy Dean Softball State Champion team members are Ellie Bowers, Elin Cowart, Reagan Dobbs, Ellie Ellison, SelahBelle Harper, Carly Henley, Laney Karr, Maggie Krasinski, Allie McBrayer, Reese McBrayer, Hayden Robinson, and Zorie Worthy. The assistant coaches are Mickey Harper, Justin Bowers, and Shea Worthy. The head coach is Seth Cowart.

Previous articleTacos and Coffee Break Ground at Maple Street Commons
Next articleSwann-Ryder endowment enables continued growth for UWG’s Ingram Library
Kevin is a reporter for The City Menus. A 2007 graduate of the University of West Georgia, he moved out of state briefly before returning to the Carroll County community in 2013. He enjoys seeing and writing about the growth in Carrollton and surrounding communities.