Home Community LaGrange Youth Council elects 2022-2023 Officers, Priorities

LaGrange Youth Council elects 2022-2023 Officers, Priorities

2022-2023 LaGrange Youth Council Officers & Committee Chairpersons
Pictured from left to right, back row: Historian Charlie Key, Social Committee Chairperson Render McLeod, Chairperson Jack Baker, Secretary Charlsie Reed. Front row: Outreach Committee Chairperson Alisa Lee & Vice-Chairperson Simone Acosta.

The LaGrange Youth Council elected its officers for the 2022-2023 school year Tuesday (9/20) evening. The council also voted on their two main priorities for the year.

The new officers include Chairperson Jack Baker (LaGrange Academy Senior), Vice-Chairperson Simone Acosta (Heard County High School Senior), Historian Charlie Key (Springwood School Junior) and Secretary Charlsie Reed (LaGrange Academy Junior).

The council also voted to focus their efforts on two priorities this year including social opportunities for teens as well as outreach with elderly and veteran communities. The group will be divided into two committees and each committee will focus on developing a project that will positively impact the community.

The new committee chairs include Social Committee Chairperson Render McLeod (LaGrange High School Senior) and Outreach Committee Chairperson Alisa Lee (LaGrange High School Junior).

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory board composed of local youth that provide advice and counsel to the local governing body. The Youth Council gives local youth a more formal role in the local decision making process offering real world experiences with elected bodies.

Twenty-four students from LaGrange High, Troup High, LaGrange Academy, Heard County High, Springwood School and Lafayette Christian School are participating in the LaGrange Youth Council for the 2022-2023 school year. Members include Simone Acosta, McKenzie Aldridge, Bryce Bailey, Jack Baker, Jordan Brock, Alex Brown, Trey Cook, J’Arthur Dunn, Zykia Gray, Rylie Hale, Emmi Horlander, Henry Huberdeau, Charlie Key, Alisa Lee, Render McLeod, Alyssa Parker, Luke Patton, Andy Patton, Madison Petite, Charlsie Reed, Drew Robinson, Belle Solomon, Mary Maddox Westmoreland and Max Zachry.

Members will be required to participate in future city council meetings and the city’s “Leaving LaGrange Better Than We Found It” litter cleanup campaign. They will also be required to work on their committee assignments.

For more information on the LaGrange Youth Council go to lagrangega.org/Home/Youth_Council.

Media Contact: Katie Mercer Van Schoor, City of LaGrange Marketing/Communications Manager, (706) 883-2055 or [email protected]

To keep up with the latest news involving the City of LaGrange, go to www.lagrangega.org or follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/lagrangegagov, Twitter at @lagrangegagov, & Instagram at instagram.com/cityoflagrangega.

Previous articleCollege Board recognizes Central High School students
Next articleFamily Fun: Boo at the Too is Back
Press releases are submitted by community partners of The City Menus. Interested in having us post your press release? Contact [email protected]