Home Carrollton UWG Honors College hosts Scholars’ Day

UWG Honors College hosts Scholars’ Day

University of West Georgia students recently participated in an Undergraduate Research Conference as part of the second annual Scholars’ Day, hosted by the Honors College. During the conference, students from all five colleges and the Tanner Health System School of Nursing present research for members of the UWG faculty and staff, as well as other students. During the evening of Scholar’s Day, Honors Convocation — in its 54th year at UWG — serves a celebration of seniors in the Honors College who will be graduating later this spring.

By Colton Campbell and Cassady Thompson

Following a tradition with more than 50 years of history, the University of West Georgia Honors College recently recognized the university’s superior seniors during its annual Honors Convocation.

More than 50 UWG students who are set for graduation in May were honored with different awards during the ceremony, which serves as the culmination of the Honors College’s annual Scholars’ Day.

Dr. Janet Donohoe, dean of the Honors College, said Scholars’ Day is an important event to celebrate all the good work UWG students have accomplished, with an undergraduate research conference in the afternoon and the Honors Convocation in the evening.

“The research conference is an invaluable experience for the students because they have the chance to practice their communication skills, get public feedback on their research and have the opportunity to answer questions people have about their research,” Donohoe said. “Then, at Honors Convocation, the best of UWG’s students receive recognition for their hard work. When we are all so busy with school work and paper-writing, it’s important we take a day to recognize the importance of all that work and celebrate the students who are excelling.”

During the afternoon conference, students from all five colleges and the Tanner Health System School of Nursing presented their research for members of the UWG faculty and staff, as well as other students. Donohoe said presenting research is an important step to build students’ confidence.

“Presenting shows students their work is important to the broader UWG community,” Donohoe said. “It’s also important in providing public recognition of the faculty who mentor these students. So many faculty are supporting so many students, and frequently they do so without any recognition whatsoever, so it’s nice to have the opportunity to recognize and appreciate those members of the faculty in this way.”

This year was the 54th annual Honors Convocation, with different departments in the College of Arts and Humanities performing selections of music and theatre.

Donohoe said she always enjoys the ceremony because it allows her to see the “best and brightest” students at UWG get recognized for their hard work.

“This is part of what makes UWG such a great institution and community,” she said. “It allows us to take pride in the remarkable students and faculty we have on our campus.”

The following is a full list of Honors Convocation award recipients:

University Awards
• Mrs. Jewell Miles Burson Calculus Award – Elexus Reid
• Marion Crider Awards – Amer Awad and Brandi Ellis
• Outstanding Women’s Studies Award – Madison Nora Kelly
• Outstanding Honors College Students
– Freshman – Tinaye Gibbons
– Sophomore – Khareem Leslie
– Junior – Bailey Thomas
– Senior – Krystallyn Keith
• Dr. Sethna Undergraduate Research Award – Isabella Torres
• John J. Pershing Award for Scholarship – Keri Jones and Tori Tucker
• Academic Recognition Day Scholar – Kyle Willoughby

College of Arts and Humanities
• The Gordon Watson Awards
– Art – Laura Bussey
– English – Keri Lynn Jones
– Philosophy – West R. Poindexter
– Foreign Language (French) – Ayana E. Blackwell
– Foreign Language (German) – Noeli Ventura
– Foreign Language (Spanish) – Riley Curbow
– Mass Communications – Taylor Hartley
– Theatre Arts – Ashley Carter
– Music – Brianna Cunningham

College of Education
• Outstanding Student in Communication Sciences and Disorders – Emily Driver
• Outstanding Student in Early Childhood Education – Anna C. Lee
• Outstanding Student in Secondary Education – Matthew Adam Alford
• Outstanding Student in Physical Education – Mary Groninger
• Outstanding Student in Sport Management – Davonte Hill
• Exemplary Leadership in Sport Management – Tucker Moss
• W. Malcolm Flanagan Award – Sarah Ashley Thomas
• Health and Physical Education Excellence in Teaching – Lauren Sarver
• Outstanding Student in Health and Community Wellness – Terriana Watson
• Making a Difference – Outstanding Community Service Award – Anna Smith

College of Science and Mathematics
• The James Emory Boyd Awards
– Chemistry – Jacob Sudduth
– Geology – Heather Alley
– Computer Science – Alex Stewart and David Wilkinson
– Physics – Joshua Daniel Harwell
• The Outstanding Senior in Biology Faculty Award – Justin Dover
• The American Institute of Chemists Award – Calleigh Hitt

College of Social Sciences
• The Tom Herndon Awards
– Geography – Henrick Gordon
– Criminology – Sadie Creel
– Sociology – April-Spring May Wood
– Economics – Lauren E. Morris and Jacob Stanfill
– History – Katie Elizabeth Sorrells
– Political Science – Bresha’ Baker
– Psychology – Erica Pilgreen
• The Carole E. Hill Award in Anthropology – Sydney O’Brien
• The Waring Distinguished Scholar Award – Sydney O’ Brien

Richards College of Business
• Frank R. Hunsicker Award in Management – Hannah Elizabeth Baldizon
• College of Business Awards in Academic Excellence
– Accounting – Cailah Cooney
– Finance – Reyna West
– Marketing – Amber Luxbacher
– Real Estate – Kimberly Moore
– Management Information Systems – Mary Ellen Clifford

Tanner Health System School of Nursing
• Nursing Award of Excellence
– BNN Newnan – Emily Ballard
– BSN Carrollton – Jasmine Reed
– RN-to-BSN – Kari Layton

Previous articleSouth of Heaven Bar-Be-Que Opening in Carrollton
Next articleEntertainment of the Future Coming to Carrollton Walmart
Born and raised in Carrollton, Ga., Colton Campbell has always been a writer. After graduating with a degree in journalism from Auburn University in 2011, he served for more than five years in the trenches of print journalism before starting a career as a communications specialist in higher education. In his current role at the University of West Georgia as Director of Strategic Communications, Colton develops and manages a comprehensive communications strategy for the university, while also leading the daily activities of the UCM communications team.