Home Community City of LaGrange inducts 2023-2024 LaGrange Youth Council

City of LaGrange inducts 2023-2024 LaGrange Youth Council

Pictured from left to right, 4th row: LYC Advisor Jeremy Andrews, Drew Robinson, Max Zachry, Prem Kamat, LYC Advisor Adam Speas; 3rd row: Janae Johnson, Laila Bailey, Jiyun Kim, Zykia Gray, Dasia Johnson; 2nd Row: Alisa Lee, Charlsie Reed, Alyssa Parker, Charlie Key, Hardy Johnson, Zaiven Hart, Erick Martinez, Jacob Kite; 1st Row: KaLisa Lynch, Belle Solomon, Yashvi Modi, Jordan Brock, Lilly Johnson, Benjamin Lee, McKenzie Aldridge.

The City of LaGrange inducted the new 2023-2024 LaGrange Youth Council members into office at the LaGrange City Council meeting on Tuesday (8/22) evening.

The youth council held its first meeting Tuesday and heard more about local government from LaGrange Mayor Willie T. Edmondson and City Manager Meg Kelsey. During the regular LaGrange City Council meeting, new members took the oath of office and the entire group signed the Code of Civility. After the meeting, the Mayor, City Council, and youth council participated in a meet-and-greet ice cream social.

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory board composed of 12 junior and 12 senior high school students from area high schools.

The local youth provide advice and counsel to the local governing body. The Youth Council gives our local youth a more formal role in the local decision-making process offering real-world experiences with elected bodies.

Twenty-four students from LaGrange High, Troup High, Callaway High, Thinc Academy, LaGrange Academy, Lafayette Christian School, Springwood School, and Home School are participating in the LaGrange Youth Council for the 2023-2024 school year. Members include Alisa Lee, Alyssa Parker, Belle Solomon, Benjamin Lee, Charlie Key, Charlsie Reed, Dasia Johnson, Drew Robinson, Erick Martinez, Hardy Johnson, Jacob Kite, Janae Johnson, Jiyun Kim, Jordan Brock, KaLisa Lynch, Laila Bailey, Lilly Johnson, Madison Petite, Max Zachry, McKenzie Aldridge, Prem Kamat, Yashvi Modi, Zaiven Hart, and Zykia Gray.

Members will be required to participate in the city’s “Leaving LaGrange Better Than We Found It” litter cleanup campaign. They will also be required to work on community issues they vote collectively as being important to the community.

For more information on the LaGrange Youth Council go to www.lagrangega.org/Home/Youth_Council.

Media Contact: Katie Mercer Van Schoor, City of LaGrange Marketing/Communications Manager, (706) 883-2055 or [email protected]

To keep up with the latest news involving the City of LaGrange, go to www.lagrangega.org or follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/lagrangegagov, Twitter at @lagrangegagov, & Instagram at instagram.com/cityoflagrangega.