Home Carrollton Carroll County Schools announces leadership changes

Carroll County Schools announces leadership changes

The Carroll County Board of Education approved a number of personnel changes today in preparation for the next school year. 

“Our system continues to grow and change, and just as we encourage our students to be future focused, we are always looking for ways to elevate our performance while being good stewards of our resources,” Superintendent Scott Cowart said.

Director of Elementary Schools Jennifer Shirley has been named Executive Director of Teaching and Learning. In her new role, Shirley will facilitate alignment of elementary, middle and high school teaching and learning, lead district school improvement efforts and evaluate educational policy and learning data.

Shirley started her teaching career at Lithia Springs Elementary School in 1998 before coming to Carroll County in 2000. She was assistant principal at Ithica Elementary School before serving as principal at Temple Elementary. In 2014 she joined the district office staff where she has served in multiple roles overseeing accountability, testing, elementary schools and middle schools. 

“I am honored to be selected as the new Executive Director of Teaching & Learning,” Shirley said. “Having served as the Elementary Director for 10 years, I am incredibly excited about this opportunity to expand my leadership role and contribute to the success of our entire school system. I look forward to collaborating with all of our dedicated educators, staff, and families to ensure a premier education for each student in Carroll County Schools.”

Tim Gribben will be moving from his current role as Director of Middle Schools and High Schools to Director of Student Services under Assistant Superintendent of Support Services Glen Harding. Gribben, longtime Temple High School principal before moving to the district office, will be overseeing school safety, student disciplinary tribunal proceedings, student enrollment projections and attendance zone changes. 

Gribben holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of West Georgia, a master’s degree from Jacksonville State University and a specialist degree from UWG in educational leadership.

“I look forward to serving our stakeholders in this new capacity,” Gribben said. “My experience as a principal and working with other principals has definitely prepared me to help them as they navigate complex situations.” 

Central Elementary School Principal Matthew Huckeba will be moving to the district office as Director of Curriculum and Instruction in the Teaching and Learning Department. Huckeba will oversee instructional practices and implement classroom resources, support 21st century teaching strategies and lead professional learning for instructional coaches and teachers. 

Huckeba has spent his entire 20-year career at Carroll County Schools. He served as an assistant principal, first at Temple Elementary and later Central Elementary. He has been CES principal for the last seven years. Huckeba holds multiple degrees from the University of West Georgia and an educational leadership certificate from Kennesaw State University. 

“I am looking forward most to working alongside other district leaders in Carroll County, which means I get to positively impact more Carroll County students, teachers and leaders,” Huckeba said.

Roopville Elementary School Principal Marla Turpin will replace Huckeba as Principal of Central Elementary. She began her career as a teacher at Glanton-Hindsman Elementary School in 2004. After 10 years in Douglas County, Turpin returned to Carroll as a teacher at CES before serving as assistant principal at Bay Springs Middle and then RES. Turpin has served as principal at RES since 2020. 

She earned a degree in early childhood education from the University of Georgia and completed the educational leadership program at Jacksonville State University in 2006. She expects to graduate with her Ed.D in school improvement this fall. 

“I am thrilled to join Central Elementary School,” Turpin said. “It is an honor to lead such a dedicated team of educators and to support our amazing students. The Central Cluster holds a special place in my heart, and I am excited to continue being part of this community I proudly call home.”

Replacing Turpin as Principal at Roopville Elementary is Central Elementary School Assistant Principal Venus Swatek. Swatek began her career with Carroll County Schools in 2001 at Sharp Creek Elementary School before moving to Central Middle. She was Teacher of the Year at SCES in 2008 and at CMS in 2015 when she was also runner-up for district TOTY. She later served as an intervention specialist for the district’s six middle schools and has been in her current position since 2019. 
Swatek earned her bachelor’s degree in Middle Grades Education from the University of Georgia, a master’s degree in K-12 Literacy Instruction and Curriculum from Lesley University and a specialist degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Piedmont College. She added certification in Educational Leadership from the University of West Georgia in 2021. 

“Roopville Elementary has a sterling reputation for excellence,” Swatek said. “I am thrilled at the opportunity to serve alongside such stellar educators in the quest to continue the acclaimed legacy of high achievement and outstanding performance.”

“I am confident that each of these leaders understands our purpose as a school system is to positively change lives,” Cowart said. “Each one has what it takes to help our faculty, staff and students reach their highest potential as they continue making a difference in our wonderful community.”